From the bathroom floor to the dance floor

Right now is an insane time in my life–my little sister is getting married, which means as the resident MOH I’m up to my ears in wedding details. So I need a break and when I need a break I turn to my glue gun and box of ribbons, beads and FUN!

Image

I have had this bag for a while now. It’s actually a toiletry bag that came with a bunch of lotions from the Body Shop. But I think it’s too pretty to hold my toothbrush and make-up remover, but not pretty enough to hold my make-up and cash on a night out. It needed a little DIY.

Image

I bought these beads from the Dollar Store and decided that a mix of light gold, dark gold and mauve would be the perfect accent to the gold flecks in the bag. I mixed the three colours together in a Ziploc bag.  Then I grabbed some Elmer’s Precision glue and got to work adding beads to the top of the purse. I put the glue down in small sections and then poured the beads on top, using my finger to lie them down flat and spread them out. The great thing about the Precision glue is it has a fine nozzle so I was able to go back after the beads dried and glue more beads into the tiny crevices that needed more sparkle.

Image

After letting the beads dry, I realized the bag was still missing something. Luckily I had leftover gold-coloured string from another project. I grabbed my precision glue and put the string around the edges of the beadwork. It added the perfect framework to the beads and made the bag look complete.

Then I just needed a fun pendant to put on the zipper. I always save extra buttons and found this great little pearl that came with a sweater I bought three years ago. I think the pearl gives a little splash of class to the dazzle of beads.

Image

And here’s the finished product! I even have the perfect outfit to showcase my new purse. The only problem is that my life as a recent grad on the job hunt means I have nowhere to go in my new outfit. For now my bedroom will have to do.

Image

Details on my DIY Purse

Beads: $1.25 from the Dollar Store
String: $1.00 from the Dollar Store
Bag: Already Owned
Pearl pendant: Already owned
Elmer’s Glue: $1.00 from the Dollar Store
Total Cost: $3.25
Duration: 2 hours
Soundtrack: “Blurred Lines” by Robin Thicke

Leave a Reply

